Faculty

Our faculty don’t just know your name, they know you!

Oglethorpe professors are passionate about their teaching and about their students. And unlike the big state schools, NONE of our classes are taught by graduate assistants.

With a student-faculty ratio of 15:1 and an average class size of 17, Oglethorpe provides an environment in which the university’s commitment to teaching excellence is evident.

The foundation of this excellence can be found in the quality of the nationally-ranked Oglethorpe faculty, their dedication to providing a rigorous learning environment and their impressive achievements as scholars. The role of Oglethorpe faculty as teacher and as scholar is often combined with the role of collaborator and mentor at Oglethorpe.

Get to know our faculty

Core

Geoffrey R. Adams
Geoffrey R. Adams
Instructor of Core Studies
404-364-8387
gadams@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 315
Michelle Barnes
Michelle Barnes
Instructor of Core Studies
msmith@oglethorpe.edu
Camilla Cruikshank
Camilla Cruikshank
Instructor of Core Studies
ccruikshank@glethorpe.edu
Jessica Handler
Jessica Handler
Instructor of Core Studies
jhandler@oglethorpe.edu
Michael O’Connor
Michael O’Connor
Instructor of Core Studies
moconnor@oglethorpe.edu
Clara Nisley
Clara Nisley
Instructor of Core Studies
nisley@oglethorpe.edu
James Terry
James Terry
Lecturer of Core Studies
jterry@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 317
Thomas Wilson
Thomas Wilson
Instructor of Core Studies
twilson2@oglethorpe.edu
John Wooll
John Wooll
Instructor of Core Studies
jwooll@oglethorpe.edu

Art

Jeffrey H. Collins
Jeffrey H. Collins
Senior Lecturer in Interdisciplinary Studies
404-504-8313
jcollins@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Library 2nd Fl
Stephanie Kolpy
Stephanie Kolpy
Adjunct Instructor in Art
skolpy@oglethorpe.edu
Lisa Larson
Lisa Larson
Adjunct Instructor in Art
llarson@oglethorpe.edu
Alan Loehle
Alan Loehle
Professor of Art
404-364-8411
aloehle@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Robinson 113
Sigrira Perret-Gentil
Sigrira Perret-Gentil
Instructor in Art
404-504-3453
spgentil@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Robinson 103

Communication

Joseph Baglio
Joseph Baglio
Adjunct Instructor in Communication and Rhetoric Studies
baglio@oglethorpe.edu
Melany Chambers
Melany Chambers
Adjunct Instructor in Communication and Rhetoric Studies
mchambers@oglethorpe.edu
Mark DeLong
Mark DeLong
Adjunct Instructor in Communication and Rhetoric Studies
mdelong@oglethorpe.edu
David Patterson
David Patterson
Adjunct Instructor, Communications
404-504-1332
dpatterson@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Robinson 109
Anne M. Rosenthal
Anne M. Rosenthal
Associate Professor of Communication & Rhetoric Studies
404-364-8532
arosenthal@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Robinson 102
Seema Shrikhande
Seema Shrikhande
Associate Professor of Communication & Rhetoric Studies (Division Chair)
404-364-8891
sshrikhande@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Robinson 101
Katherine Zakos
Katherine Zakos
Assistant Professor of Communication & Rhetoric Studies
kzakos@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Robinson 107

Music

David Buice
David Buice
Accompanist & Assistant Director, Oglethorpe University Singers
dbuice@oglethorpe.edu
Richard Burgess
Richard Burgess
Affiliate Artist in Guitar
rburgess@oglethorpe.edu
Erin Ellis
Erin Ellis
Affiliate Artist In Violoncello
eellis@oglethorpe.edu
Patti Gouvas
Patti Gouvas
Affiliate Instructor, Violin & Viola
pgouvas@oglethorpe.edu
Mary Ann Hill
Mary Ann Hill
Affiliate Artist in Voice
mhill@oglethorpe.edu
W. Irwin Ray
W. Irwin Ray
Director of Musical Activities and Senior Lecturer in Music
404-364-8429
iray@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 100
Brent Runnels
Brent Runnels
Senior Lecturer of Music
404-364-8397
brunnels@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 114
Paul Scanling
Paul Scanling
Affiliate Artist in Woodwinds and Brass
pscanling@oglethorpe.edu

Philosophy

Devon Belcher
Devon Belcher
Associate Professor of Philosophy
404-364-8375
dbelcher@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 312
Amanda Printz Whooley
Amanda Printz Whooley
Assistant Professor of Philosophy
404-364-8495
aprintz@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 319

History

Ronald P. Bobroff
Ronald P. Bobroff
Associate Professor of History; Director, Center for Global Education (A_LAB)
Office (History): 404-364-8530
Office (CGE): 404-364-8899
rbobroff@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 315
Room #: TLCC A_LAB 240
Robert Grant
Robert Grant
Adjunct Instructor, History
404-364-8368
rgrant@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst
Nicholas B. Maher
Nicholas B. Maher
Associate Professor of History
404-504-3473
nmaher@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 306
W. Bradford Smith
W. Bradford Smith
Professor of History
404-364-8384
bsmith@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 317
Katherine Stevens
Katherine Stevens
Assistant Professor of History
kstevens@oglethorpe.edu
Glenn R. Sharfman
Glenn R. Sharfman
Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs, Professor of History
404-364-8318
gsharfman@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Provost Suite

Politics

Stephen Herschler
Stephen Herschler
Associate Professor of Politics
404-364-8433
sherschler@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 301
Kendra A. King Momon
Kendra A. King Momon
Associate Professor of Politics (Division II Chair); Director of the Rich Foundation Urban Leadership Program
404-364-8351
kking@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 305B
Joseph M. Knippenberg
Joseph M. Knippenberg
Professor of Politics
404-364-8341
jknippenberg@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 309
John D. Orme
John D. Orme
Professor of Politics; Manning M. Pattillo Professor of Liberal Arts
404-364-8342
jorme@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 313
Matthew J. Tuininga
Matthew J. Tuininga
Adjunct Instructor, Politics & Core Studies
mtuininga@oglethorpe.edu
Harold Young
Harold Young
Adjunct Instructor in Politics
hyoung1@oglethorpe.edu

Biology

Lea Marie Alford
Lea Marie Alford
Assistant Professor of Biology
404-364-8403
lalford@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Goslin 227
Charles L. Baube
Charles L. Baube
Professor of Biology; Director of the Core Program
404-364-8404
cbaube@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Goslin 223
Roarke E. Donnelly
Roarke E. Donnelly
Associate Professor of Biology; Directory of the Urban Ecology Program
404-364-8401
rdonnelly@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Robinson 103
Karen L. Schmeichel
Karen L. Schmeichel
Assistant Professor of Biology (Division Chair)
404-364-8402
kschmeichel@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Goslin 224
Nicole Umberger
Nicole Umberger
Adjunct Instructor in Biology
numberger@oglethorpe.edu

Chemistry

Keith H. Aufderheide
Keith H. Aufderheide
Professor of Chemistry; Associate Provost
404-364-8405
kaufderheide@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Provost Suite, Lupton 3rd Floor
Gregory Gabriel
Gregory Gabriel
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
404-364-8406
ggabriel@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Goslin 318
Humayun Kabir
Humayun Kabir
Visiting Assistant Professor of Chemistry
404-364-8350
hkabir@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Goslin 321

Physics

Mariel Meier
Mariel Meier
Assistant Professor of Physics
404-364-8339
mmeier@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Goslin 320
Michael K. Rulison
Michael K. Rulison
Professor of Physics; Honor Council Secretary
404-364-8409
mrulison@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Goslin 319

Psychology

Amanda Carton
Amanda Carton
Adjunct Instructor in Psychology
acarton@oglethorpe.edu
John S. Carton
John S. Carton
Professor of Psychology (Division Chair)
404-364-8381
jcarton@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 308
Lisa J. Hayes
Lisa J. Hayes
Assistant Professor of Psychology
404-364-8391
lhayes1@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 316
John Trimper
John Trimper
Adjunct Instructor in Psychology
jtrimper@oglethorpe.edu
Kimberly Watkins
Kimberly Watkins
Adjunct Instructor in Psychology
kwatkins@oglethorpe.edu
Justin C. Wise
Justin C. Wise
Assistant Professor of Psychology
404-364-8386
jwise@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 318
Leah R. Zinner Gottesman
Leah R. Zinner Gottesman
Associate Professor of Psychology
404-364-8390
lzinner@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 310

Sociology

Thomas Brooks
Thomas Brooks
Adjunct Professor in Sociology
tbrooks@oglethorpe.edu
Natalie Deckard
Natalie Deckard
Lecturer of Sociology
ndeckard@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 317-b
Brad L. Stone
Brad L. Stone
Professor of Sociology
404-364-8344
bstone@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 316

Computer Science

Brian Patterson
Brian Patterson
Assistant Professor of Computer Science & Mathematics
404-504-1322
bpatterson@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 313

Mathematics

J. Lynn Gieger
J. Lynn Gieger
Associate Professor of Mathematics (Division Chair)
404-504-3412
lgieger@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 311
John C. Merkel III
John C. Merkel III
Associate Professor of Mathematics
404-364-8519
jmerkel@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 302
John C. Nardo
John C. Nardo
Professor of Mathematics
404-364-8327
jnardo@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 311
Philip D. Tiu
Philip D. Tiu
Associate Professor of Mathematics
404-364-8431
ptiu@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Goslin 321
C. Rett McBride
C. Rett McBride
Instructor of Mathematics
404-364-8493
cmcbride@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 309
Mary Garner
Mary Garner
Adjunct Instructor in Mathematics
mgarner@oglethorpe.edu
Alanna Johnson
Alanna Johnson
Adjunct Instructor in Mathematics
ajohnson7@Oglethorpe.edu

Accounting

Robert Burchfield
Robert Burchfield
Lecturer of Accounting
404-364-8349
rburchfield@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 310
Samantha S. Dalton
Samantha S. Dalton
Adjunct Instructor of Accounting
sdalton@oglethorpe.edu
Floran Syler
Floran Syler
Assistant Professor of Accounting
404-364-8353
fsyler@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 306

Business Administration

Lynn M. Guhde
Lynn M. Guhde
Mack A. Rikard Professor of Economics & Business Administration (Division Chair)
404-504-1179
lguhde@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 319
James “Rob” Harris
James “Rob” Harris
Adjunct Instructor of Business Administration
jharris2@oglethorpe.edu
Earl Howell
Earl Howell
Assistant Professor of Business
404-364-8346
ehowell@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 312
Catherine Joo
Catherine Joo
Adjunct Instructor in Business Administration
cjoo@Oglethorpe.edu
Jeanette Miller
Jeanette Miller
Adjunct Instructor of Business
jmiller3@oglethorpe.edu
Kimberly Weaver
Kimberly Weaver
Adjunct Instructor in Nonprofit Management
kweaver@oglethorpe.edu

Economics

Cassandra C. Copeland
Cassandra C. Copeland
Professor of Economics
404-364-8464
ccopeland@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 314
Brain Hunt
Brain Hunt
Adjunct Instructor in Economics
bhunt@Oglethorpe.edu
Peter J. Kower
Peter J. Kower
Associate Professor of Economics
404-364-8347
pkower@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 303
Phillip Mayer
Phillip Mayer
Adjunct Instructor, Economics
404-364-8383
pmayer@oglethorpe.edu
J. Dean Tucker
J. Dean Tucker
Professor of Economics and Business Administration
404-364-8352
dtucker@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 308

English

Reshmi J. Hebbar
Reshmi J. Hebbar
Assistant Professor of English
404-364-8370
rhebbar@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Robinson 105
Robert B. Hornback
Robert B. Hornback
Professor of English (Division Chair)
404-364-8379
rhornback@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Robinson 109
Linda J. Taylor
Linda J. Taylor
Professor of English
404-364-8398
ltaylor@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 301
Sarah Terry
Sarah Terry
Assistant Professor of English; Director of the Honors Program
404-364-8393
sterry@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 313

Theatre

Matt Huff
Matt Huff
Assistant Professor of Theatre
404-504-3409
mhuff@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Conant 2nd
Lee Knippenberg
Lee Knippenberg
Adjunct Instructor in Theatre
lknippenberg@oglethorpe.edu
Brian Kurlander
Brian Kurlander
Adjunct Instructor in Theatre
bkurlander@oglethorpe.edu
Jonathon R. Nooner
Jonathon R. Nooner
Lecturer in Theatre
404-504-3434
jnooner@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Conant 2nd

Chinese

Loyee Ling
Loyee Ling
Adjunct Instructor in Chinese
lling@oglethorpe.edu

French

Jay Lutz
Jay Lutz
Professor of French; Frances I. Eeraerts '76 Professor of Foreign Language
404-364-8395
jlutz@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 307
Iona Wynter Parks
Iona Wynter Parks
Instructor of French
404-364-8380
iwynterparks@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 304

German

Vanessa Pfänder
Vanessa Pfänder
Instructor of German
404-364-8304
vpfaender@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 302

Japanese

Robert Steen
Robert Steen
Professor of Japanese
404-364-8394
rsteen@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 314

Spanish

Mario Chandler
Mario Chandler
Professor of Spanish (Division Chair)
404-364-8382
mchandler@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 320
Viviana P. Plotnik
Viviana P. Plotnik
Professor of Spanish
404-364-8378
vplotnik@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 303
Matthew Wild
Matthew Wild
Adjunct Instructor in Spanish
mwild@oglethorpe.edu

Librarians

Eli Arnold
Eli Arnold
Reference Librarian
404-364-8885
earnold@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Weltner Library
Anne A. Salter
Anne A. Salter
Director of Philip Weltner Library; University Librarian
404-364-8514
asalter@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Weltner Library
Toni Zimmerman
Toni Zimmerman
Reference Librarian
404-364-8504
tzimmerman@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Weltner Library