Faculty

Our faculty don’t just know your name, they know you!

Oglethorpe professors are passionate about their teaching and about their students. And unlike the big state schools, NONE of our classes are taught by graduate assistants.

With a student-faculty ratio of 15:1 and an average class size of 17, Oglethorpe provides an environment in which the university’s commitment to teaching excellence is evident.

The foundation of this excellence can be found in the quality of the nationally-ranked Oglethorpe faculty, their dedication to providing a rigorous learning environment and their impressive achievements as scholars. The role of Oglethorpe faculty as teacher and as scholar is often combined with the role of collaborator and mentor at Oglethorpe.

Get to know our faculty

Core

Christine Basil
Christine Basil
Lecturer of Core Studies
cbasil@oglethorpe.edu
Ian Curran
Ian Curran
Instructor of Core Studies
icurran@oglethorpe.edu
Elizabeth Hetzel
Elizabeth Hetzel
Instructor of Core Studies
ehetzel@oglethorpe.edu
Lynn Tinley
Lynn Tinley
Instructor of Core Studies
ltinley@oglethorpe.edu
Greg Trotter
Greg Trotter
Instructor of Core Studies
gtrotter@oglethorpe.edu
Rebecca Clark Schmerer
Rebecca Clark Schmerer
Lecturer in Core Studies
rschmerer@Oglethorpe.edu
315 Hearst Hall
Geoffrey R. Adams
Geoffrey R. Adams
Instructor of Core Studies
404-364-8387
gadams@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 315
Michelle Barnes
Michelle Barnes
Instructor of Core Studies
msmith@oglethorpe.edu
Matthew Wild
Matthew Wild
Lecturer of Core Studies; A_LAB Faculty Liaison and Service Learning Coordinator
mwild@oglethorpe.edu
Camilla Cruikshank
Camilla Cruikshank
Instructor of Core Studies
ccruikshank@glethorpe.edu
Michael O’Connor
Michael O’Connor
Instructor of Core Studies
moconnor@oglethorpe.edu
Clara Nisley
Clara Nisley
Instructor of Core Studies
nisley@oglethorpe.edu
Thomas Wilson
Thomas Wilson
Instructor of Core Studies
twilson2@oglethorpe.edu
John Wooll
John Wooll
Instructor of Core Studies
jwooll@oglethorpe.edu

Art

Christina Washington
Christina Washington
Lecturer of Art
Jeffrey H. Collins
Jeffrey H. Collins
Senior Lecturer in Interdisciplinary Studies
404.504.3452
jcollins@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Library 2nd Fl
Stephanie Kolpy
Stephanie Kolpy
Adjunct Instructor in Art
skolpy@oglethorpe.edu
Lisa Larson
Lisa Larson
Adjunct Instructor in Art
llarson@oglethorpe.edu
Alan Loehle
Alan Loehle
Professor of Art (Division Chair)
404-364-8411
aloehle@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Robinson 113
David Patterson
David Patterson
Adjunct Instructor
404-504-1332
dpatterson@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Robinson 109

Communication

Kate Keib
Kate Keib
Assistant Professor of Communication and Rhetoric Studies
404-504-3459
kkeib@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Robinson 101
Joseph Baglio
Joseph Baglio
Adjunct Instructor in Communication and Rhetoric Studies
baglio@oglethorpe.edu
Melany Chambers
Melany Chambers
Adjunct Instructor in Communication and Rhetoric Studies
mchambers@oglethorpe.edu
Anne M. Rosenthal
Anne M. Rosenthal
Associate Professor of Communication & Rhetoric Studies
404-364-8532
arosenthal@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Robinson 102
Seema Shrikhande
Seema Shrikhande
Professor of Communication and Rhetoric Studies; Manning M. Pattillo Professor of Liberal Arts
404-364-8891
sshrikhande@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Robinson 101
Katharine Zakos
Katharine Zakos
Assistant Professor of Communication & Rhetoric Studies
kzakos@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Robinson 107

Music

Christopher Riggenbach
Christopher Riggenbach
Affiliate Artist In Double Bass
criggenbach@oglethorpe.edu
Wanda Temko
Wanda Temko
Affiliate Artist in Voice
wtemko@oglethorpe.edu
Tim Powell
Tim Powell
Lecturer in Music, Director of The Oglethorpe Singers
Mauro Ronca
Mauro Ronca
Accompanist & Assistant Director, Oglethorpe University Singers
mronca@Oglethorpe.edu
Richard Burgess
Richard Burgess
Affiliate Artist in Guitar
rburgess@oglethorpe.edu
Patti Gouvas
Patti Gouvas
Affiliate Instructor, Violin & Viola
pgouvas@oglethorpe.edu
Dr. Brent Runnels
Dr. Brent Runnels
Senior Lecturer in Music; Director of Music
404-364-8397
brunnels@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Goodman Hall Piano Studio
Paul Scanling
Paul Scanling
Affiliate Artist in Woodwinds and Brass
pscanling@oglethorpe.edu

Philosophy

Devon Belcher
Devon Belcher
Associate Professor of Philosophy
404-364-8375
dbelcher@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 312
Amanda Printz Whooley
Amanda Printz Whooley
Assistant Professor of Philosophy
404-364-8495
aprintz@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 319

History

Ronald P. Bobroff
Ronald P. Bobroff
Associate Professor of History
Office (History): 404-364-8530
Office (CGE): 404-364-8899
rbobroff@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 315
Room #: TLCC A_LAB 240
Robert Grant
Robert Grant
Adjunct Instructor, History
404-364-8368
rgrant@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst
Nicholas B. Maher
Nicholas B. Maher
Associate Professor of History
404-504-3473
nmaher@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 306
W. Bradford Smith
W. Bradford Smith
Professor of History, Director of the Honors Program
404-364-8384
bsmith@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 317
Katherine Stevens
Katherine Stevens
Assistant Professor of History
kstevens@oglethorpe.edu
Glenn R. Sharfman
Glenn R. Sharfman
Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs, Professor of History
404-364-8318
gsharfman@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Provost Suite, Lupton 3rd Floor

Politics

Stephen Herschler
Stephen Herschler
Associate Professor of Politics; Interim Director of the Center for Global Education
404-364-8433
sherschler@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 301
Kendra A. King Momon
Kendra A. King Momon
Professor of Politics (Division II Chair); Director of the Rich Foundation Urban Leadership Program
404-364-8351
kking@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 305B
Joseph M. Knippenberg
Joseph M. Knippenberg
Professor of Politics
404-364-8341
jknippenberg@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 309
John D. Orme
John D. Orme
Professor of Politics; Manning M. Pattillo Professor of Liberal Arts
404-364-8342
jorme@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 313

Biology

Lea Marie Alford
Lea Marie Alford
Assistant Professor of Biology
404-364-8403
lalford@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Goslin 227
Charles L. Baube
Charles L. Baube
Professor of Biology
404-364-8404
cbaube@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Goslin 223
Roarke E. Donnelly
Roarke E. Donnelly
Professor of Biology; Director of Environmental Studies Program
404-364-8401
rdonnelly@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Robinson 103
Karen L. Schmeichel
Karen L. Schmeichel
Assistant Professor of Biology (Division Chair)
404-364-8402
kschmeichel@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Goslin 224

Chemistry

Ben Chun
Ben Chun
Adjunct Instructor in Chemistry
bchun@oglethorpe.edu
Dontarie Stallings
Dontarie Stallings
Adjunct Instructor in Chemistry
dstallings@oglethorpe.edu
Keith H. Aufderheide
Keith H. Aufderheide
Professor of Chemistry
404-364-8405
kaufderheide@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Provost Suite, Lupton 3rd Floor
Gregory Gabriel
Gregory Gabriel
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
404-364-8406
ggabriel@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Goslin 318
Humayun Kabir
Humayun Kabir
Visiting Assistant Professor of Chemistry
404-364-8350
hkabir@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Goslin 321

Physics

Mariel Meier
Mariel Meier
Assistant Professor of Physics
404-364-8339
mmeier@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Goslin 320
Michael K. Rulison
Michael K. Rulison
Professor of Physics; Honor Council Secretary
404-364-8409
mrulison@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Goslin 319

Psychology

Kristy M. Sorenson
Kristy M. Sorenson
Visiting Assistant Professor of Psychology and Core Studies
Amanda Carton
Amanda Carton
Adjunct Instructor in Psychology
acarton@oglethorpe.edu
John S. Carton
John S. Carton
Professor of Psychology (Division Chair)
404-364-8381
jcarton@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 308
Lisa J. Hayes
Lisa J. Hayes
Assistant Professor of Psychology
404-364-8391
lhayes1@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 316
Justin C. Wise
Justin C. Wise
Associate Professor of Psychology
404-364-8386
jwise@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 318
Leah R. Zinner Gottesman
Leah R. Zinner Gottesman
Associate Professor of Psychology
404-364-8390
lzinner@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 310

Sociology

Oliver Cowart
Oliver Cowart
Lecturer in Sociology
Brad L. Stone
Brad L. Stone
Professor of Sociology
404-364-8344
bstone@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 316

Accounting

Robert Burchfield
Robert Burchfield
Lecturer of Accounting
404-364-8349
rburchfield@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 310
Floran Syler
Floran Syler
Lecturer of Accounting
404-364-8353
fsyler@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 306

Business Administration

Russell Reams
Russell Reams
Adjunct Instructor in Business
rreams@oglethorpe.edu
Jennifer Rentenbach
Jennifer Rentenbach
Adjunct Instructor in Business
jrentenbach@oglethorpe.edu
David Nasser
David Nasser
Senior Lecturer in Marketing
Frank Pampush
Frank Pampush
Assistant Professor of Business
Lynn M. Guhde
Lynn M. Guhde
Mack A. Rikard Professor of Economics & Business Administration (Division Chair)
404-504-1179
lguhde@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 319
Earl Howell
Earl Howell
Assistant Professor of Business
404-364-8346
ehowell@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 312
Jeanette Miller
Jeanette Miller
Lecturer, Finance/Business Analytics
jmiller3@oglethorpe.edu

Economics

Michael Shiroya
Michael Shiroya
Visiting Assistant Professor, Economics
mshiroya@Oglethorpe.edu
Cassandra C. Copeland
Cassandra C. Copeland
Professor of Economics
404-364-8464
ccopeland@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 314
Peter J. Kower
Peter J. Kower
Associate Professor of Economics
404-364-8347
pkower@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 303
Phillip Mayer
Phillip Mayer
Adjunct Instructor, Economics
404-364-8383
pmayer@oglethorpe.edu

English

Nick Bujak
Nick Bujak
Assistant Professor of English
Reshmi J. Hebbar
Reshmi J. Hebbar
Assistant Professor of English
404-364-8370
rhebbar@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Robinson 105
Robert B. Hornback
Robert B. Hornback
Professor of English (Division Chair)
404-364-8379
rhornback@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Robinson 109
Sarah Terry
Sarah Terry
Associate Professor of English; CORE Director
404-364-8393
sterry@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 313
Jessica Handler
Jessica Handler
Visiting Lecturer of English
jhandler@oglethorpe.edu

Theatre

Matt Huff
Matt Huff
Associate Professor of Theatre
404-504-3409
mhuff@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Conant 2nd
Lee Knippenberg
Lee Knippenberg
Adjunct Instructor in Theatre
lknippenberg@oglethorpe.edu
Jonathon R. Nooner
Jonathon R. Nooner
Lecturer of Theatre
404-504-3434
jnooner@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Conant 2nd

Chinese

Loyee Ling
Loyee Ling
Adjunct Instructor in Chinese
lling@oglethorpe.edu

French

Jay Lutz
Jay Lutz
Professor of French; Frances I. Eeraerts '76 Professor of Foreign Language
404-364-8395
jlutz@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 307
Iona Wynter Parks
Iona Wynter Parks
Instructor of French
404-364-8380
iwynterparks@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 304
James Terry
James Terry
Lecturer of Modern Language
jterry@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 317

German

Timo Weidner
Timo Weidner
Instructor, German

Japanese

Robert Steen
Robert Steen
Professor of Japanese
404-364-8394
rsteen@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 314

Spanish

Mario Chandler
Mario Chandler
Professor of Spanish (Division Chair)
404-364-8382
mchandler@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 320
Viviana P. Plotnik
Viviana P. Plotnik
Professor of Spanish
404-364-8378
vplotnik@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 303

Computer Science

Brian Patterson
Brian Patterson
Associate Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science
404-504-1322
bpatterson@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 313

Mathematics

J. Lynn Gieger
J. Lynn Gieger
Professor of Mathematics
404-504-3412
lgieger@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Hearst 311
John C. Merkel III
John C. Merkel III
Associate Professor of Mathematics
404-364-8519
jmerkel@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 302
John C. Nardo
John C. Nardo
Associate Provost; Professor of Mathematics
404-364-8327
jnardo@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Lupton 311
Philip D. Tiu
Philip D. Tiu
Associate Professor of Mathematics (Division Chair)
404-364-8431
ptiu@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Goslin 321
Mary Garner
Mary Garner
Visiting Assistant Professor in Mathematics
mgarner@oglethorpe.edu
Claudia Roper
Claudia Roper
Adjunct Instructor in Mathematics
croper@oglethorpe.edu
Sunny Young Kang
Sunny Young Kang
Adjunct Instructor in Mathematics
skang@Oglethorpe.edu
Linda DeCamp
Linda DeCamp
Lecturer of Mathematics

Librarians

Eli Arnold
Eli Arnold
Interim Library Director, University Librarian
404-364-8885
earnold@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Weltner Library
Toni Zimmerman
Toni Zimmerman
Reference Librarian
404-364-8504
tzimmerman@oglethorpe.edu
Room #: Weltner Library